My New Book of Poetry

One of the reasons I haven’t been blogging lately is because I’ve been very busy gathering together over 40 years worth of my poetry from old journals and scraps of paper all over the house. I finally decided to put them altogether in a collection that could be publishable.

The result of all this gathering work is “124 Poems for God, Love and Light Conquer the Night”. I love this book. It might not be the best poetry out there, but it’s mine, coming straight from the heart, and often from a heart that was mired in seemingly insurmountable quicksand of despair and darkness of the depression with which I struggled for most of my life.

I’m proud of having survived…proud, glad, relieved and inclined to celebrate waking up to each new day as a tremendous accomplishment. There were many, many times when I thought it would be impossible a) to get through even one more moment, b) to get through even one more day, and c) to get to a here-and-now that I would be delighted and happy to wake up to….at one time in my life, that was unimaginable to me.

But here I am. In a really good here-and-now. And “124 Poems for God” is the story, through poetry (many of which were originally written as songs I played on my guitar), of constantly reaching out of that quicksand and despair, reaching for light, love, hope and whatever I could find that would help me get through the next step, the next bend in the road, the next safe ground.

So here it is, available now on most Amazon sites…and soon it should be available on all Amazon sites. Here’s the link to Amazon.com: 124 Poems for God

124 Poems July 20 love and light V5

 

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in courage, depression, despair, determination, empowerment, faith, gratitude, hope, inspiration, Light, Love, meaning, mental health, perseverance, poetry, spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Book of Poetry

  1. Angelika Schwarz says:

    Congratulations Sharon. So many of these poems and prayers are so beautifully written, they get under the skin and grab the heart. Just beautiful. You are truly an exceptionally talented poet. Wishing you success with this treasure. This should lie next to every bed side, to quiet the soul before falling asleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon says:

      Angelika, thank you so much…it means a lot to me to hear such beautiful words. You are a good friend, and I’m blessed with you in my life…your are surely one of the beacons of light in my life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

