Make Yourself At Home

Evening Prayer

“Lord, my mind is scattery today. Toxic. I don’t like it and have been trying to ‘think a better thought’ but not getting very far.”

I manage to quiet my scattered brain and stay centred in the silence for a few moments.

“Make your mind your home”

Right away my heart pounds and my tired brain perks up. What a radical idea! Make my mind my home.

“How?”

“How do you make any house a home? By furnishing it with love, surrounding yourself with your favourite mementos and colours that bring you joy and pleasure. By creating a comfortable space where you can put your feet up and relax. Do the same with your mind. Furnish your mind with love, surround yourself with thoughts that bring joy and pleasure. Create a space where you can put your inner feet up and relax into the comfort of being “at home” with yourself.

  • Fill your mind with Love and Light – open the windows and let Light flow in!
  • Fill your mind with good enjoyable experiences that make you laugh;
  • Fill your mind’s ears with gentle words of understanding, patience and encouragement and for all that you’ve been through today;
  • Create a space in your mind for friendly gatherings and conversations – and companionable silences – with Me and with your own self…show kind hospitality for the pilgrim that you are and compassionate respect for all that you have travelled through to get here;
  • Remember to enjoy the treasures you’ve collected throughout your journey; take them out – the wisdoms and the blessings – and enjoy them over and over again;
  • Continue to cultivate your loving self-talk; always speak kind words into and within that inner sanctum;
  • Create in your mind a safe comfortable place where you feel free to relax, put your tired thoughts up and do nothing when you want and need to;
  • Dust once in awhile;
  • Every so often clear out the clutter than inevitably accumulates in any attic;
  • Detoxify – daily! Clean out the negativity you’ve picked up through the TV, conversations and ruminations; refill those emptied spaces with more Love and Light;
  • Wash the windows once in awhile; life has a way of throwing mud in your eyes;
  • Continuously furnish your mind with fresh beauty, favourite music, comfortable resting spaces, nourishing silence, grateful thoughts and whatever other delightful things that bring you joy;
  • Do what you need to do to protect your core, your peace, your Sacred Ground and the Light of your own being…stay your course and don’t allow anyone or anything to steal your joy and peace…remember, you are allowed to close the door to unwanted intruders into your home!
  • Most of all, ALLOW your mind to become and be home. You live there 24/7, it should and can be the place where you are Loved the most.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2016. All rights reserved.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in authenticity, coping, depression, empowerment, faith, gratitude, happiness, hope, inspiration, journey, joy, kindness, life, Light, Love, mental health, Peace, positive thinking, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make Yourself At Home

  1. Angelika Schwarz says:

    Oh, I found the link! Beautifully written… and very wise. Even if it’s hard to follow all those suggestions, one or the other will remain… and that helps more than we can realize at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon says:

      Thank you, Angelika…thank you for reading and commenting. I’m trying to keep in my head the image of my house and what we do to keep it comfortable and hospitable…and then translate all of that to my own state of mind, which as you know isn’t always so hospitable…I need to follow some of this daily. I think it will help provide me an easy-to-remember path into that inner sanctum of peace and calm in the chaos. I’m laughing to myself, thinking that when life sucks, it will be the perfect time to mentally vacuum my brain. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Angelika Schwarz says:

    Haha… very clever; when life sucks vacuum the brain.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

