Ebb and Flow

Life is a never-ending flow of change…even when where we are feels stagnant and too mundane to matter much, even then the mundaneness is somehow changing us, evolving us forward to the next moment and the next. We never know what’s around that next bend in time, maybe a phone call, a letter, an email or a knock on the door will break through and bring something new into an ordinary day. Or maybe nothing will come to break the monotony, and that in itself, somehow changes us. Perhaps too many mundane stagnant moments will compel us to make different choices to break out of the rut we’ve gotten ourselves into. Maybe our weariness with stagnancy will lead us outdoors to explore and discover something new and fresh that will revive our drooping spirits.

Even whatever appears to be NOT happening is leading us somewhere. And it may not always be a “good” somewhere. If we allow ourselves to become complacent with the stagnancy and mundaneness, then we run the risk of unconsciously repelling or even blocking anything good that wants to break through. Then the flow of change becomes an ebbing of possibility, leaving us feeling even more stagnant and hopeless of ever moving out of there.

It’s always a choice. Always. We choose what to do every moment of the day. We choose how to respond to the feelings that flow in and out of us like the fickle flickers that they are. Feelings are fickle and temporary, but sometimes our responses lead us to make rash choices that feed and propagate those feelings, making us feel like we’re hopelessly stuck in a mucky quicksand of futility…a stagnant place.

We’re not meant to be stagnant. We always have a choice. Yes, sometimes it’s very difficult to rouse oneself from the stupor of sadness and the languor of loneliness. Something in us irrationally wants to stay there and wallow and heap detrimental self-chattering into the mix, rubbing the salt of our own self-ostracization into an already festering wound of feeling utterly alone in the world.

Rise up, I tell my lethargic self. Rise up and change direction. Find a beam of light and stand there, soaking in the warmth and then allow the brightness to shine through to the core of you. You are meant to live in the light…you are meant to BE light. Even if it’s just the feeble flicker of a tired candle, be light.

Breathe in the change that wants to move you back into the flow. If nobody knocks on your door, YOU knock on your own door and wake yourself up. If nobody calls you, YOU call somebody, bring cookies or soup to an elderly neighbour, weed their garden, rake their leaves or shovel the snow off their sidewalk, ask somebody about the dog they’re out walking, There’s always a way out of the stagnant mundaneness.

Sometimes we’re blessed by someone breaking through with a warm hello and kind word. But sometimes we have to be the one to rise up out of our stupor and bring the change to someone else’s doorstep…and in doing so, we also allow good change to flow into our own hearts and lives.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2015. All rights reserved.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in change, choice, kindness, life, Sadness, self-help, social anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ebb and Flow

  1. Angelika Schwarz says:

    Sharon there is a preacher in you. Was that ever a calling? I could see you in an protestant church, dressed in a long robe, and capturing everyone under your spell. Beautifully written… and you convinced me… to keep on moving!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon says:

    hAhahah…(I’m laughing because I’m delighted that you see that part of me) I have ALWAYS wanted to be a minister…in my early years, by the time I was 11 or 12, I wanted to be a United Church minister. Then in my twenties, I joined the Catholic Church and wanted to be a priest. When that was clearly not possible, it did crush me for awhile. I don’t think I’ve ever lost the interest in being a United church minister, but I have lost the energy I would need to do that job.

    I didn’t think i had a preacher in me, but used to do a lot of work in various churches throughout my entire life, since I was young. I was even named an honorary elder of the church when I was only 13 because of my fervour.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angelika Schwarz says:

    Maybe preaching in senior homes might be a wonderful thing to do. But I know what you mean about the energy thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

