Remembrance Day 2014

Today is Remembrance Day and there aren’t enough words to express my Gratitude for the freedom I enjoy today because of the sacrifices of so many who fought – and still fight – to guard our rights and freedoms. The more of the world we travel, the more we see just how wonderful a life we enjoy here in Canada. What we often take for granted, many throughout the world yearn and pray for.

As I watched the Remembrance Day services today, my heart surged yet again with deep love for my country and an even fiercer love for those who have made it possible to live the way I live today. I’m especially mindful of all of our soldiers who come back broken and wounded after witnessing horrors and atrocities that no human should have to experience – or witness. My heart aches and carries these wounded heroes and prays that our government will wake up to its responsibility to take better care of our fathers and mothers, sisters and brothers who are the very ones we all (including government) owe our very freedom and lives to in the first place. Along with the beautiful words and poppies we wear to show our gratitude and appreciation, we need to put that Gratitude into action by speaking care and accountability to those who come back in need of more than just our beautiful words.

I am profoundly grateful to each and every one of our Canadian troops…those who have died for our freedom, and those who survived but face even darker battles now, battles that we now need to help them survive. That’s where our gratitude should be expressing itself today, in avowals to ensure that every wounded soldier receives the absolute best possible care and help they need to survive and then thrive beyond those battlefields we asked them to defend on our behalf. We owe them everything we can possibly give them, we owe them the very lives we profess gratitude to be living today.

Thank you. Thank you each and every one. May this little voice of gratitude ripple out and make a difference in your life as your life has made all the difference in mine.

Juno Beach, Normandy, France

Juno Beach, Normandy, France

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2014. All rights reserved.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in gratitude, remembrance day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembrance Day 2014

  1. Thank You seems so inadequate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon says:

      It does. The gifts of freedom and lifestyle are enormous…”thank you” is so tiny…but we have to start with that and hopefully build our lives on a good foundation of gratitude, justice and kindness…and peace. Peace most of all.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

