Trekking to Sept-Îles, Part 6….Le Bic

Up until this year, I had never heard of “Le Bic“. Although we have been driving to and from and through Rimouski for many years, visiting Andre’s brother who lived there, I had never taken note of “Le Bic” (which is now amalgamated into Rimouski)…perhaps because my eyes were probably focused on the beautiful scenery all along the river there. So when Andre’s niece Thérèse invited us to visit her there, we were glad for the opportunity to spend time with her, and to explore this lovely little village on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River.

We really enjoyed the long and scenic walk to get to the shoreline. Of course I took lots of pictures. And here they are! I hope you enjoy them too!

(This is the last post in this series on our trek to/from Sept-Îles. My next travel blog series will hopefully be about our upcoming trip to Paris, Berlin and Prague in the fall.)

IMG_2293

A surprise waterfall at Le Bic, Quebec

Playing with the camera at the waterfall in Le Bic, Quebec

Yellow flowers at the waterfall in Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2297

Playing with my camera at the waterfall in Le Bic, Quebec

The view on the other side of the bridge from the waterfall at Le Bic, Quebec

The view on the other side of the bridge from the waterfall at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2301

A glimpse of the theatre at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2304

Lots of ducks, at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2313

Low tide, at Le Bic, Quebec

Andre and Therese catching up on all the family news...on our walk in Le Bic, Quebec

Andre and Thérèse catching up on all the family news…on our walk in Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2314

I love this view of the church, so quintessentially “Quebec”, in Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2324

A panoramic view of the village of Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2326

A tiny boat stranded by the low tide, at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2328

I love those hills in the background at Le Bic, Quebec…they reminded us of the hills we saw in Yangshuo China

 

IMG_2330

St Lawrence River, at Le Bic, Quebec; you can reach the little island to the left by foot at low tide, but you must take care to return before the tide comes in, because the water gets too deep to cross without a boat.

IMG_2331

Strange rock formation…looks like a great place to have a campfire, although there were no ashes or other signs of anyone ever having been in there before. At Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2336

Andre and Thérèse, at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2337

I spied this little guy…at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2339

Hunting for lunch at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2342

I loved being here, it’s a beautiful, serene spot, at Le Bic, Quebec

IMG_2356

Our last chance to get this close to the river for awhile, as we leave Rimouski and Le Bic and head for home.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2014. All rights reserved.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in Quebec, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trekking to Sept-Îles, Part 6….Le Bic

  1. Beautiful pictures, Sharon.

    Like

  2. angelika says:

    Love that waterfall. I so enjoyed your series, Sharon. thank you for sharing, it’s a wonderful way to get to know each other better, and see the world through a friend’s eyes.

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Angelika, it’s always fun to travel together through each other’s “camera eye”. I always enjoy your travels too. Thanks for being a part of this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

