A Tribute to All Who “Show Up” to Live Each Day

I originally posted this in my Gratitude Blog, but wanted to share it here too. It’s a tribute to my friend Ruth and countless others in my life and in the world at large who have taught me so much about courage. They tend to be quiet and you might miss them if you’re not blessed to know someone who fits the description. But I’ve been greatly blessed, and thus this tribute today.

Today I’m profoundly grateful for the people in this world who, as my friend Iva put it,  “show up”…who – despite indescribable suffering, pain, despair, fear, disability, mental anguish, depression, grief, sorrow, sadness, anger, bitterness (brought on by too many disappointments and overwhelming griefs) – show up for their lives every day. Day-in-and-day-out, trudging through the muck and mire of cancer, facing the seemingly endless and inescapable drudgery of chronic pain, battling back the fear and futility of despair that would rather see them tethered to their beds…despite it all, people show up to live another day.

To me, this is the guts and glory of humanity…knowing full well that the day holds all of its pain, muck, fearsome things to face, grief and disappointments…they rise and throw open the curtains and quietly, perhaps even grudgingly, declare themselves to be here for another round.

Lots of words come to mind. Tenacious, courageous, persevering, brave, hopeful…but mostly phenomenal. Phenomenally glorious in their refusal to roll over and give up.

I’m grateful for these people, for every single person on the face of the earth who gets up each day and shows up to live their life. I believe that the light that shines from these people is far more dazzling than any of us can ever imagine or give them credit for…I believe that each person who chooses to get out of bed and throw back the curtains of their personal darkness and suffering and shows up to live out the day, sends out, by simply showing up, endless ripples of possibility and empowerment and light and dazzling beauty.

Maybe we don’t always have the eyes to see that light unless we are mindful enough to look for it. But whether or not we “see” it, I truly believe that we are all impacted and blessed by these countless ripples of effort and courage and tenacity of hope. All of those individual flickers of light go sparkling through the continuum, joining other flickers of light, and ultimately gather together into one glorious dazzling burst of light, bathing us all in an energy, the ever-pulsing hum of the universe, the glorious song of life itself.

Thank you, to all of you – to me too – to all of us – who showed up for our lives today, who show up for our lives every day…you matter, we all matter, it all matters more than we can ever imagine.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2014. All rights reserved.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in coping, empowerment, faith, hope, inspiration, meaning, positive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

