Cuba 2014 – Part 6 – The Games People Play

So, I have to admit that I don’t have much to offer on this particular blog. Not because I didn’t try, but because, well, there are only so many pictures of domino games I can get away with showing. I don’t know about other parts of Cuba, but in the area where we visit, dominoes dominate. Everywhere we go, we end up playing dominoes. Whenever we would walk through the nearby village, we would see a new domino game set up around almost every corner.

Now, I do enjoy playing dominoes, but admittedly don’t play well, mainly because I just can’t count fast enough to determine what’s already been played, nor can I remember what’s still likely to be left – and I definitely cannot fathom how to predict which player has which remaining dominoes. Too complicated – and aggressive – for me. And most of the domino players we know take the game very seriously and are exceptionally good at knowing all of that counting and predicting stuff. So I tend to leave the domino playing to hubby and his brother while I watch and, well, take pictures.

My favourite domino game of all time would be the one that a bunch of us women played out in the far village on International Women’s Day (March 8th). The more timid players amongst us decided to have a “gentle” game, more laid back and fun than the serious aggressive games that hubby and the others normally played. It was gentle, slow-paced and we fumbled through with lots of laughter – and apparently Yeni and I won, though we weren’t actually keeping score…personally I think we ALL won because of the laughter and fun we had while playing.

As elusive as it was to find, I did manage to capture a few photos of people playing other games besides dominoes. Perhaps my readers will agree that it’s one of my flakier blogs in this series, but it still hopefully provides a wee interesting glimpse into daily life in this little corner of Cuba.

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2014. All rights reserved.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in Cuba, fun, positive, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cuba 2014 – Part 6 – The Games People Play

  1. Thank you for giving us a small window into the lives of your friends!

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Thanks, Ruth. I love windows, and I too enjoy getting glimpses through windows into the lives of people in other parts of the world. I enjoy sharing these because I love these people and these memories of our time with them so very much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

