New From Lily!

Wonder of wonders, we received an email from one of our dearest friends in Cuba! It’s very rare for emails to make it through, so this one’s a real treasure. I’ve run it through the Google translator so it’s not perfect English (addendum: I’ve taken the liberty to change some of the translation to what I think Yeni’s trying to say). The email is from one of Lily’s relatives, a young man we’ve known since he was very very young and contains news straight from Lily’s Mom, Yeni. While it’s still not good news, it’s good for us to hear directly from Yeni herself.

So many of you are praying for and interested in Lily, so I’m posting the email for you to see.

“I am writing to let you know of us especially Lili.  Around here are fine. Lili is better, still no diagnosis defined, the 11th we have an appointment with the immunologist and will continue with treatment.

Ana Maria told me you had contacted a friend in the hotel to know [about Lili] and to ask if she needs you to bring any medication. Until the 11th we will not know to tell you about that medicine that Lili needs; the doctor says she may need Interferon but we don’t know for sure yet.

Lili is immunosuppressed, malnourished and anemic (deficient in iron), this is one of the reasons why she gets sick so often.

Well now I say goodbye. we love you and want to see you soon.

Greetings from Yenny, Michael and Lili”

Here’s the original in Spanish: “Hola amigos André y Sharon

les escribo para que sepan de nosotros en especial de Lili. por acá estamos bien. Lili bastante mejor, aún no hay un diagnóstico definido, el día 11 tiene turno con el inmunólogo y continúa con tratamiento médico.

Ana María me dijo que ustedes se habian comunicado con una amiga en el hotel para saber de Lili y si necesita algún medicamento.

hasta el día 11 no sabré que decirte sobre que medicamento necesita la niña, la doctora dice que posiblemente necesite Interferón pero con seguridad aún desconosco.

La niña está inmunodeprimida, desnutrida y con anemia por déficit de hierro, esta es una de las causas por la que la niña se enferma tan a menudo.

Bueno ahora me despido. los queremos mucho y deseamos verlos pronto.

Saludos de Yenny, Miguel y Lili

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in Cuba, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

