I’m reblogging this wonderful piece, because it fits in so perfectly with my last blog here…I need to push all those other voices aside and let this be the message I hear. Happy reading all!

Real Rest is the Best

“Many voices ask for our attention. There is a voice that says, “Prove that you are a good person.” Another voice says, “You’d better be ashamed of yourself.” There  also is a voice that says, “Nobody really cares about you,” and one that says, “Be sure to become successful, popular, and powerful.” But underneath all these often very noisy voices is a still, small voice that says, “You are my Beloved, my favor rests on you.” That’s the voice we need most of all to hear. To hear that voice, however, requires special effort; it requires solitude, silence, and a strong
determination to listen.

That’s what prayer is. It is listening to the voice that calls us “my Beloved.”

– Henri J. M. Nouwen

I love this piece of writing by Henri Nouwen. It carries truth and wisdom. The still, small voice within us is indeed saying, “You are My…

View original post 239 more words

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in coping, courage, empowerment, faith, gratitude, Henri Nouwen, hope, inspiration, Love, meaning, mental health, mercy, Peace, perseverance, positive, purpose, self help, spiritual, wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

Leave a Reply

