Memory Mantras – Eat Chocolate…Change Focus

eat chocolateNo matter how hard we try, no matter how diligent we might be, there are still days that just suck. There are days when the crap just pours down on us and gets flung at us from all directions and all the positive mantras in the world just don’t make us feel better. Trying to be altruistic while up to your neck in crap is, well, like adding insult to injury, even when you know it’s the right thing to do. Let’s face it, some of us just might not be evolved to the point of being perfect all of the time yet!

That’s where chocolate comes to the rescue.

Oh, I know, it won’t solve the world’s problems, and it won’t fix the situations that precipitated all that crap being thrown at us, but sometimes it’s just better to eat chocolate than to keep fretting about the crap. And it’s possible that the act of STOPPING to enjoy (savour?) the chocolate helps as much as the chocolate itself.

When everything around us is falling down (metaphorically), and our brains are going haywire with all of the chaos and drama, sometimes the best thing we can do is simply STOP. Stop, grab a piece of chocolate (they say that one piece of dark chocolate a day can actually be healthy for us!), and take a few moments to breathe, eat, savour – and refocus.

This is when I often tell myself to go and do something else, something opposite to what I was doing. If I was sitting, then I get up and go do something – do the dishes, vacuum, clean out a closet, sweep the floor, take a walk, whatever, as long as it’s the opposite to sitting. If I was busy doing housework or errands (or involved in a crappy situation), then I stop and sit – maybe read a magazine article, or check my email, or sip a cup of tea along with that piece of chocolate. Whatever it takes to change the focus from the crap and chaos to something different, if even for a brief stretch of time.

I’ve had to develop strategies like this to manage my anxiety over the past few years. It was very easy for me to get overwhelmed by fear, by fatigue, and/or by futility…so the best way for me to manage these negative debilitators was to physically turn myself away from them and get busy doing something completely different than what I was doing when they began to overwhelm me. And it worked. And while those anxieties do still pop up, albeit to a lesser degree now than back then, these coping mechanisms and management strategies are still useful in other everyday situations too.

Some people are better at not letting situations get so chaotic, and seem able to let things slide off their backs. I’m not there yet. Working at it, but still not there. So to facilitate my evolution to getting there, I’ve had to implement these kinds of mantras to help me remember to physically move myself away from the negative mind-space of fear and futility and change my focus to the positive ground of gratitude and possibility. Getting from one to the other does require action and choice, and for me, sometimes the best action for changing my inner focus is to change my outer physical environment, even if it’s just moving from one room to another.

Perhaps that seems odd to some who can more easily move their minds from one thought to another…I hope someday to be able to do that too. And I know I’m not alone. Some of us seem to be wired differently, and it’s not so easy coping with the chaos that sometimes goes on up there in the attic. Thus my sharing of these memory mantras that work for me…maybe they’ll help someone else too.

And who doesn’t love a piece of chocolate anyway! I’m diabetic, but switching to dark chocolate means that I can actually enjoy a piece or two and reap some healthy benefits from it! How wonderful is that!! That alone is enough to help me change my focus from any crap that I might be drowning in.

Here are some links that discuss those health benefits of dark chocolate…maybe you’ll want to go and grab a piece of chocolate before you start reading!

Fitday

Women’s Health

Mark’s Daily Blog

All Chocolate (they could be biased here)

Livestrong

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2012. All rights reserved.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in aging, brain training, chocolate, coping, empowerment, faith, gratitude, hope, inspiration, meaning, mental health, perseverance, positive, purpose, wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memory Mantras – Eat Chocolate…Change Focus

  1. Chocolate is medicine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

