Happy New Year!

joy new year 2013Today I’m so grateful for having made it through the past year. I’m delighted to be on the threshold of a brand new year. And I’m excited to see how 2013 evolves, day by day, moment by moment.

I’m so glad to be alive. I’m grateful for each new day that I’m allowed to wake up to. And I’m profoundly in love with God Who has journeyed me through so much more than words could ever adequately convey here. He has been my constant companion, my light in every dark corner, my pathway out of every dark alleyway, and the Love Who has so tenderly carried me from dark places of anxiety and despair to this new serenity and profound empowerment of my spirit and mind.

I’m especially grateful to God for all the wonderful people who have blessed my life over the past year with their presence, wisdom, comfort and companionship.

As I venture into a new day and a new year, I’m aware that my cup runneth over with goodness, blessings, joy and possibility. As joyful as my spirit is, I’m also keenly aware of the pain and suffering around me, of the struggles and fears that abound in the people I love and in the people that they love. And so my heart is full of prayer for all, prayer for peace, prayer that Light and Love shine into every nook and cranny of every life that touches mine, and on into every life that lives and breathes in every nook and cranny of this entire world. A tall order, but my new mindset of hope and serenity tells me that all things are possible, so even this, peace-in-the-world, is possible.

My friend Angelika posted a comment awhile ago that led me to adopt as my new Year’s resolution the mandate to make at least one person happy each and every day. If you do the math, if I do that – if we all did that – imagine the accumulative effect by this time next year! It’s do-able. It’s within reach. As Angelika put it: “If every person on this earth would only make one other single person happy, then this entire world would be happy.”

Happy New Year to all who enter here!

I wish each and every one of you Peace, Happiness, Love and Light,

enough to fill each moment and day to overflowing,

enough to provide happy, healthy, safe passage through 2013.

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in conversions, coping, determination, empowerment, faith, gratitude, happiness, hope, inspiration, journey, meaning, mental health, New Year, Peace, positive, purpose, spiritual, wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. We can’t fix all the pain, anger, and suffering in the world. All we can do is live our lives to be a good example of how hope, peace, and love can change the world one person at a time. 🙂

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      It took me a long time to accept that, Ruth. I’m sure now that it was a huge factor in my chronic fatigue and debilitating anxiety, the fear/pressure to figure out how to alleviate more of the pain and suffering around me and in the world at large. It was very tiring. It’s much healthier to accept my limitations and go one day, one encounter at a time, trusting that if it’s all I can physically do right now, then it has to be enough.

      Like

      • No one person can fix everything; no matter how much we think we should. 🙂 It’s like that song I remember learning as a child – something about lighting the corner where we are. We can help one person at a time and trust that they will pay it forward. (And sometimes that person we help is us.)

        Like

  2. angelika says:

    That’s the best New Year’s resolution ever, Sharon. And if nobody should be around to make happy; then make yourself happy. 🙂

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Excellent and wise advice, Angelika! I don’t get out much, so it could be tricky to keep that resolution otherwise…and I’m so easy to please…a piece of chocolate, a hot cup of tea, a browse through someone’s beautiful photos online…thank you dear friend, you bring much happiness to my soul with your presence in my life!

      Like

  3. angelika says:

    Group hug ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

