Post-Christmas Contemplation

Christmas pjsWhat is it that makes a grown woman stand at the window at the end of Christmas Day with tears in her eyes weeping silently up to Heaven…”Daddy, it’s over!”

Yes, Christmas Day was such a lovely day that I was genuinely sad to get to the end of it. Being a Christian, I know that Christmas Day is just the beginning, in fact, it’s the beginning of an entirely new liturgical year. A beautiful, wondrous beginning.

And yet, it’s a bittersweet beginning too…my faith tells me of glorious things to come, yet my silly human heart weeps for the endings too. The last gift at the bottom of the stocking. The last brightly wrapped package from under the tree. The last piece of maple-flavoured bacon at brunch. The last spoonful of the best stuffing ever. The last round of a rousing board game. The last lingering notes of a favourite Christmas carol. The last moments of a beautiful Christmas Day.

Yes, there’s a new day dawning soon. I’m glad for that. And I always hope and pray to make it through to that new dawn…someone recently posted a quote on my FB wall that says something to the effect that if you woke up this morning, it’s because God still isn’t finished with you yet and still needs you here. I always hope and pray that there’s some special purpose that I’m meant to wake up to each day.

Still, it would be dishonest for me to say that I didn’t feel a wee sadness at the end of such a beautiful day as Christmas was this year…there’s gratitude for all that helped to make it beautiful, but there’s also that little tinge of a wish that it could last forever. Childish perhaps. The grown-up me shudders at the thought of it being Christmas every day. But the child in me still whines out to Heaven…”Daddy, it’s over!”

As I turn away from the window to turn out the lights, I trip over that brand new pair of cozy fleece jammies that Santa left under the tree for me. A flicker of pure joy fills my heart as I pick up those jammies and head up the stairs to bed. Yes, indeed, it was a very merry Christmas even to the very end.

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in Christmas, coping, faith, gratitude, hope, positive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

