Celebrating Christmas Day

merry-christmas JoyMerry Christmas! I thought I’d leave links to a few of my favourite Christmas hymns for you. I will be praying throughout this Christmas for all those who are lonely, lost, grieving, homeless and/or missing, struggling with health issues and yes, for world peace…for peace in our hearts, our communities, our nations and our world. Sometimes it sounds too simplistic and perhaps unrealistic, but I’m convinced, even after years of struggling and wrestling and grieving and hurting, that it really is all about love. Love. Love changes everything. When we finally realize we are loved, we are changed. When our choices are rooted in love, when love is the birthplace of the words we speak and when love is the foundation and core of our relationships with one another, everything changes. As the world continues to grapple with the brutality of war and senseless cruelty, love can seem like the last thing we feel like contemplating, much less nurturing towards that world. But somehow, if peace is ever going to be possible, we must fumble our way through all of this rubble and pain and win through to love again. It’s our best hope for evolving the world into a place of more love than hatred. We can do it. It will take time. But it all starts with Love and allowing Love to be born anew in our hearts, not just on Christmas Day, but every day.

Joyous day to all. Merry Christmas to all who celebrate. Love and peace to all who enter here.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Joy to the World (Disney Sing-Along version):

Michael W. Smith: Sing Noel, Sing Hallelujah:

Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton: The Greatest Gift of All 

Celtic Woman: O Holy Night:

Celtic Woman: Little Drummer Boy:

Andrea Bocelli: Adeste Fideles:

Mormon Tabernacle Choir: Hallelujah Chorus:

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2012. All rights reserved.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in Christmas, faith, hope, meaning, spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebrating Christmas Day

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Christmas Day « Dig women

  2. angelika says:

    Once again, Sharon, you have outdone yourself. I so enjoyed this post. Unfortunately not all Youtube is available internationally, but the ones I could see I really enjoyed. Thank you for sharing! ❤

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Thanks Angelika, I always forget that not everyone can view the YouTube videos. I’m glad that you were able to see some of them. Thank you for your comments here, but thank you so much for “being there” for me earlier today. You helped turn the day around for me. xox

      Like

Leave a Reply

