Celebrating My Talented Friends – Part 2

In part one, you met some of my talented gifted friends. Let’s continue that celebration by meeting 3 more friends whose talents and accomplishments enrich and brighten my world. I have been incredibly blessed by all of these friends and am in constant awe of their courage in shining their light for all of us to enjoy. So let me share their giftedness with you too!

Addendum Note: Many photos have been removed due to copyright concerns.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Click on Georgia’s book to see it at Amazon.com

Georgia Richardson

To put it simply, Georgia makes me laugh. Now, don’t just skip over that line as if it’s an insignificant forgettable tidbit.

Georgia brought laughter back into my heart and soul when I thought I would never be able to laugh again.

I met Georgia way back in 2005 when I stumbled across the threshold of a wonderful online community for boomer women. I was lost, broken, mired in dark depression and profound grief. I was a mess. A sad, lonely, reclusive, mucky mess. Georgia was one of the early responders to my cry for help, and became one of the most powerful – and empowering – forces in my life for the many wonderful years that we spent together in that online community.

I don’t know how the women in this community were able to keep finding the compassion, kindness, patience and grace to keep helping me find my way through the muck and mire that had me so paralyzed in those early months. But they did, and Georgia was a constant companion throughout that entire journey, both within the community itself and through personal emails as well. Georgia taught me more than words can convey here, about life, living, gratitude, kindness, friendship and so much more. All of the women taught me so much…but the one gift that Georgia gave me that I will forever cherish above all others is the gift of laughter.

Georgia has a tremendous gift of humour…of seeing the quirky fun in day-to-day life that I had not been able to see or enjoy for a very long time. Her humour was simple for me to “get”, and her laughter infectious, leading to many hilarious posts and moments within the community, and leading me personally back to my own long-lost sense of humour. Once we dusted all the cobwebs off, and I found myself laughing again for the first time in many years, well, then healing followed.

It was Georgia who taught me the “thing” that has now become my own wonderful, cherished morning routine of jumping out of bed, opening the window and shouting (well, whispering with great joy from deep inside my heart) “Good morning, World!” I start every morning off that way now, with a heartfelt joy in waking up to a new day, and a heartfelt whisper of loving good mornings to my God and the world around me. It’s a joyful way to start the day, and it’s Georgia who planted that seed inside of my heart many years ago.

But you don’t have to just take my word for it! Georgia (whose REAL name is actually Queen JJ) has written a wonderful book which I’ve read several times over (I especially love the mammogram story!). Her book is called A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to The Throne and is a delightful collection of Georgia’s wit and humour through anecdotal stories from within her day-to-day living.

Georgia also has her own blog, All Things Royal Blog, where her heart, compassion and kindness shine through her gift of writing. I will forever be grateful to God for the day He brought Georgia into my life…it’s a joy and privilege to share her gift and humour here for others to discover and enjoy as well!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Gillian Floyd

I met Gillian on Facebook many years ago. Gillian fills my wall with life – looked at from perspectives and angles I never imagined possible. From amazing closeups of the tiniest bugs to thrilling panoramic landscapes, Gillian brings to life the world around her and allows us fascinating glimpses into nooks and crannies of that world that we probably never even knew existed.

Gillian’s photography has opened my eyes to the beauty and wonder of everyday life, and has taught me that there’s always more going on around me than my eyes can see. I not only get to enjoy her pictures on my Facebook wall, but those glimpses have rippled into a new curiosity about everything I see around me now. I like that! I love how Gillian has reawakened in me a long-lost delight in the simplest beauties of nature everywhere I go.

Gillian is also a gifted painter…her painted rocks are especially exquisite – and fun! Her ability to paint in such tiny intricate detail awes me! It’s fascinating and captivating to see ordinary rocks come alive under her gifted eyes and hands.

Visiting Gillian’s website (Gillian Floyd) is akin to visiting sanctuary! My words cannot do justice, you will just have to go and browse for yourself to see what I’m raving about! Go and enjoy!!

Gillian’s photography is also available on gift cards.

Check out Gillian’s Facebook page at Gillicards

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is one of Rosemary’s hand-made fabric baskets.

Rosemary Gosselin

Rosemary is another Facebook friend who I originally met through various games there. But it’s Rosemary’s amazing handiwork and imagination that have delighted and awed me over the past few years.

Rosemary handcrafts unique pillowcases – in various sizes, including throw cushion covers – and beautiful fabric baskets like the one in the picture above. I’ve long admired Rosemary’s artistry and continue to marvel at the beauty – and fun – of her work.

Rosemary began making pillowcases several years ago when a friend’s grandson was undergoing chemotherapy. In Rosemary’s words, she  figured that if he had to rest a lot, he should have some fun things to rest with. And so began a magical collection of unique, one-of-a-kind pillowcases.

The colour and pattern possibilities are endless! Rosemary’s imagination is boundless, as you can see by her extensive collection of pillowcases, hair scrunchies, rag quilts and baskets at her Artfire site. Rosemary has created pillowcases in just about any pattern and colour you can possibly imagine! Her children’s line is especially magical and fun, her holiday-themed collection extensive,  and she also has unique patterns for various special occasions, pets and even nature-lovers.  It’s all here and it’s all handmade by Rosemary herself.

I’ve included a couple of pictures here, but there is plenty more to browse through at any of Rosemary’s sites:  Artfire Sweet Dreams Pillowcases; Rosemary’s Facebook kiosk here; and Rosemary’s Facebook page called Sweet Dreams Pillowcases

This is one of Rosemary’s delightful Halloween-themed pillowcase. (You all know how much I love orange!!)

This one is an Autumn-themed throw pillow cover.

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in Art, autumn, blogging, courage, determination, empowerment, friendships, fun, gratitude, hope, inspiration, positive, purpose, wisdom, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrating My Talented Friends – Part 2

  1. Awesomely talented people in your circle, Sharon! Thank you so much for introducing me to these wonderful people!! (Well, except for Da Queen, who I already know!!)

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Thank you Ruth! My life has been incredibly enriched and blessed with amazing people…both people with tangible talent like writing, painting and handiwork, but also people whose giftedness shines through their kindness, wisdom, grace and heart-presence. I’m so glad to be alive and enjoying the richness of these people!

      Like

  2. Queen JJ says:

    Hey Ruth (Queen frantically waving hand)…Wow Sharon, is it possible to be friends with your friends? I want to get to know these talented people! Maybe some of their amazing gifts will rub off on MOI…Internet-Osmosis and all that? Da Queen demands a court with Rosemary and Gillian! Thank you, thank you, thank you, for sharing this. I’m off to visit their sites. Woo Hoo!

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      All hail the Queen! And welcome (I would have rolled out the red carpet had I been here when you arrived!) Ahem, you could try sending friend requests to Gillian and Rosemary (I’ll send you their links). I’m so blessed, I have the bestest online friends ever!

      Like

Leave a Reply

