A Delicious Day

For some people, their favourite day is a birthday or Christmas. While I like those days too, my very favourite kind of day is the one where I wake up in the morning with nothing whatsoever on the calendar or agenda. No errands that need to be run, no appointments anywhere, no heavy housework that needs to be done today (we’ll just titivate a little here and there, as my Mom used to say) and nowhere that we absolutely have to go.

I love a day full of possibilities.

Of course, it doesn’t take long for us to start frittering it away…I do a bit of sorting through the stuff that we’ve been putting aside for our trip to China, hubby will do his rounds in the garden, I’ll enjoy a hot cup of Earl Grey tea and some online browsing (that’s a really good way to lose track of time), hubby will fix something…but eventually, around mid-morning, we’ll gravitate toward each other and ask “What do we want to do today?”

That’s one of my very favourite parts of the entire day. Because the possibilities are endless.

We could take a nice long drive to somewhere we’ve never been before.

We could go bowling.

We could go downtown and stroll through the market (and maybe even splurge on some Italian gelato?).

We could walk through Chinatown and see what weird and wonderful new ideas we can experiment with.

We could pick a far-away area of the city and go browse through the gardens and shops there (even hubby enjoys that once in awhile).

The point is, the idea of having nothing in particular to do and nowhere in particular to go is utterly delicious. We both enjoy savoring these “empty” moments just bursting at the seams with possibilities. You would think, being retired, that it would happen more often, but it doesn’t. Our calendar and days fill up quickly, with medical appointments, grocery shopping, must-do errands, housework and repairs that might be fun but are nevertheless obligatory.

There’s a different “feel” to the day when there’s nothing written on the calendar and nothing that either one of us needs to do.

Yes, the possibilities are endless.

Today is one of those days. My mind stretches as far as it can go taking in all of the wonders and colours of such a day. Where we end up choosing to go is secondary…just the freedom to ponder, taste each possibility and then choose any one of them is the joy; waking up to a morning like this makes me feel like I could soar across the universe.

It makes me question why we don’t allow for more of these days. Our lives get so busy – yesterday was downright hectic – that the days melt into each other and weeks can fly by in a hazy blur. I enjoy “seizing the day”, I like to fall into bed at the end of the day feeling as if we really lived the day to its fullest potential. When we’re busy, we can fall into bed exhausted, but somewhat blurry-eyed as to just how much of the day we actually breathed into our souls. Yesterday, before the hecticness began, a little yellow bird came and sat on the top of the shepherd’s hook right outside the kitchen window. I had to stop and watch it, because yellow birds are very rare around here. Time stood still, and my breakfast got cold, but my soul sang for the joy of being able to stop and drink in the gentle beauty and delightful surprise of finding that yellow bird just outside my window like that.

That’s how I want to live. Not running from one appointment or errand to the next, though that’s inevitable and part of the reality of daily living. But I also want to leave time for tip-toeing from one little yellow bird singing outside my window to the blue jay splashing at our fountain, from one sweet-smelling pink rose in our garden to the gorgeous fields of orange lilies along the road – and onward and upward into whatever other wondrous “simple” joys lie waiting for me around the next bend of the day.

Yes, today is my favourite kind of day. I still don’t know what we’ll end up doing with today, but I’m relishing the simple joy of the empty slate – savoring the freedom to choose (or even not to choose) and allowing the swirl of infinite possibilities to roll around on my soul’s tongue for these few delicious moments.

This is exactly the kind of morning I enjoy waking up to and this is the life I’ve crawled through muck and mire to get to. And oh, what an exquisite joy it is to be standing here at the threshold of this most delicious day!

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Copyright © Sharon C. Matthies, Meanderings (blog), 2012. All rights reserved.

About Sharon

I love to write. I love to write myself into being right here right now. Writing releases something in me that needs wings, writing opens doors and windows that I often don't even realize are possible, writing helps me breathe out the dusty old, and to breathe in the new and possible. My hope is that maybe writing here in this blog will bring new light into these dusty old hallways and help me to clear out the thinking processes and mindsets that just don't work for me anymore. I seek to breathe new light and life into the nooks and crannies of a soul that has been feeling somewhat lost and frayed because of the last few patches of road I've had to travel.
This entry was posted in aging, empowerment, faith, fun, gratitude, happiness, hope, journey, meaning, mental health, positive, spiritual, survival, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Delicious Day

  1. I love those kinds of days, too, Sharon. Between work, and remodeling, and landscaping, there just aren’t enough days like that for me. Occasionally, we have a weekend day when we decide to go do something fun, but those don’t happen very often, especially now when it’s too hot to step outside except early in the morning (by 8am it’s usually too hot to go out!). Once the weather cools, we will probably make time for more days when we can go out into the desert and take pictures, recharge, and relax.

    Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Although it doesn’t get as hot here as in your corner of the world, Ruth, somedays (today could be one of them) it does get hot enough to be uncomfortable. And then in the winter, it’s often too cold.

    Our life used to be very hectic most of the time, until illness forced me to stop, and fatigue almost paralyzed me for days at a time. Since then, I’ve learned how much I enjoy these “empty” days, and we’ve both learned to build them into our week…we’ve been trying to keep Sundays as free as possible. No shopping or errands, just our walk together, and then maybe a buffet lunch once in awhile.

    It’s hard to “stop” everything and remember to breathe…when we travel, it’s almost impossible to find a quiet day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

